The teams which have reached the CONMEBOL Libertadores final the most times

A ranking of the clubs to have played in the final the most times.

We're approaching the end of the CONMEBOL Libertadores 2018 where a new champion will be crowned. Until this season's competition, 43 teams from 9 countries had reached the most important trophy in South American club football. Brazil is the country to have produced the most finalists with 20 ahead of Argentina with 13.

Boca Juniors are the side to have made the most finals in the history of the CONMEBOL Libertadores with 11. River are playing in their sixth final.


Juan Roman Riquelme Gremio Boca Copa Libertadores 2007 20062007

Boca are the only side to have reached eleven CONMEBOL Libertadores finals: they've won six.


River Peñarol Copa Libertadores 1982

Peñarol have won five titles from their ten final appearances.


Ricardo Bochini

Independiente have played in seven CONMEBOL Libertadores finals and won six. Olimpia de Paraguay is the other side to be involved in seven finals although they've only one three times.


River Plate v Tigres Copa Libertadores 06082015

River Plate, Nacional de Montevideo and Sao Paulo have all made six finals. But the Uruguayan and Brazilian sides have only been able to win half: three triumphs, three failures.


Lanus Gremio Final Copa Libertadores 29112017

Estudiantes de La Plata (won four and lost only one) and Gremio are sitting on five final appearances each. Gremio have won the competition three times and lost twice.


Copa Libertadores 1996 River-America
Santos (3 titles), Cruzeiro (2 titles), Palmeiras (1 title) and América de Cali (0 titles) have been in four Libertadores finals.


Atletico Nacional Copa Libertadores
Internacional and Atlético Nacional have appeared in three grand finals and possess identical records: 2 wins and 1 loss. 


Colo Colo - Libertadores 1991
Of the sides to reach the final twice, only Colo Colo were able to claim the biggest prize. Cobreloa, Newell's, Barcelona de Guayaquil and Deportivo Cali have lost every final.


Once Caldas Copa Libertadores 2004 Champions
Racing, Flamengo, Argentinos Juniors, Vélez, Vasco da Gama, Once Caldas, Liga de Quito, Corinthians, Atlético Mineiro and San Lorenzo have won in their only final appearance. On the other side: Universitario de Perú, Unión Española, Universidad Católica, Sporting Cristal, Cruz Azul, Sao Caetano, Atlético Paranaense, Fluminense, Chivas de Guadalajara, Nacional de Paraguay, Tigres, Lanús and Independiente del Valle all lost in their only final match.