Eye on 2020: How qualification for the 2020 Libertadores is shaping up

With the 2019 Libertadores now concluded, the race is fully on to secure spots in the 2020 CONMEBOL Libertadores, where all roads lead to Rio.

Independiente del Valle have also qualified for the group stage after winning the 2019 Copa Sudamericana. If they were to qualify via both the Sudamericana and make the league final, the next best placed team in the regular season table would slot into the first phase of the Libertadores. With league seasons reaching the stretch run, we take a country-by-country look around the continent at how qualification for South America’s biggest competition is shaping up. 

This page will be updated weekly with new information in the lead-up to the 2020 Libertadores Draw on December 17th. A full list of teams qualified for the 2020 Libertadores can be found here.


Qualification in Argentina works a bit differently than the rest of the continent, with the league working on a “European” calendar with the league running, roughly, from August-May. That means that the vast majority of 2020’s Libertadores qualifiers were settled in mid-2019. As such, we know that Racing, Defensa y Justicia, Tigre, and Boca Juniors will be in the 2020 group stage.

River Plate are guaranteed a spot in the competition as well, but could enter as low as the second stage. River will face Central Córdoba in the Copa Argentina Final, set to be played on December 13th in Mendoza. If River lift the Copa Argentina, then they will enter in the group stage and Atlético Tucumán would earn a Libertadores spot, entering in the second phase. 

If River don’t lift the Copa Argentina, that means that Central Córdoba have won the title and a spot in the group stage, leaving the 2018 champions and 2019 finalists to enter the competition before the group stage begins. 


Six matches remain in the Bolivian Clausura, and the picture for the 2020 Libertadores is starting to come into focus. Bolívar were Apertura champions and have already locked up one spot in the group stage.

The other group stage spot will go to the champion of the Clausura, currently led by Bolívar. If Bolívar take both titles, the other group stage spot will go to the Clausura runner-up, currently Jorge WilstermannThe Strongest are four points back of Bolívar and three of Jorge Wilstermann.

Bolivia's other two Libertadores spots will go to the top teams in the aggregate table. The Strongest are, pun fully intended, looking strong currently in second behind Apertura champions Bolívar. In fact, The Strongest could lock up a Libertadores berth as early as this week with a win and a loss by Nacional Potosí who sit in fourth in the table. Jorge Wilstermann sit in third, while San José and Blooming are fifth and sixth, needing a timely run of form to qualify. 


Brazilian qualification for the  2020 Libertadores has wrapped up. Athletico Paranaense, Flamengo, Santos Palmeiras, Grêmio and São Paulo will enter in the group stage, while Corinthians and Internacional have secured a spot in the second phase.


Qualification for the 2020 Libertadores will be confirmed by the Chilean Federation following the suspension of the 2019 Primera División. Universidad Católica have been named champions and will enter the Libertadores in the group stage, joined by Colo ColoPalestino will debut in the second phase, with the final spot yet to be confirmed.


Junior and Independiente Medellín have qualified for the 2020 Libertadores, the former as Apertura champions the latter as champions of the Colombian Cup. Junior are assured of a spot in the group stage, while DIM will enter in the second phase. With the Clausura nearing an end, those two have been joined by América de Cali who will enter in the group stage and Deportes Tolima, who enter the competition in the second phase. 


Independiente del Valle have qualified for the group stage after winning the 2019 Copa Sudamericana. If they were to qualify via both the Sudamericana and the Serie A, the next best placed team in the regular season table would slot into the first phase of the Libertadores. 

Macará and Barcelona are assured of spots in the Libertadores by virtue of their performance in the aggregate table, with Barcelona entering the competition in the first phase, while Macará will debut in the second phase.

The other two spots, which send teams directly into the group stage, will go to the champion and runner-up of the Ecuadorian Serie A, whose final pits Delfín against Liga de Quito. By virture of qualifying for the final, those two sides will feature in the 2020 Libertadores group stage. 


Qualification has wrapped up in Paraguay, with three of the biggest sides in the country guaranteeing themselves a spot in the 2020 Libertadores. Olimpia ran away as Apertura champions, assuring themselves a group stage spot, and have lost just twice domestically in 2019.

Cerro Porteño and Libertad have both secured Libertadores spots as well thanks to their high position in the aggregate table, but are both still fighting for a direct spot into the group stage. Whoever finishes higher in the aggregate table, Libertad currently lead by four points, will secure the group stage spot.

Guaraní will be the fourth Paraguayan side in the 2020 Libertadores, and will enter the competition in the first phase.


Peru have already qualified their four teams to the 2020 Libertadores. Deportivo Binacional, and their magnificent crest, were Apertura champions, collecting a Libertadores berth with their trophy.

Binacional will be joined in the group stage by Alianza Lima with Sporting Cristal debuting in the second phase. 

Universitario claimed the fourth spot via the aggregate table, and will debut in the first phase. 


Uruguay's two giants Peñarol and Nacional topped the charts again in 2019, earning spots in the 2020 Libertadores Group Stage. 

They will represent Uruguay alongside Progreso, making their first apperance since 1990, and Cerro Largo, who will make their Libertadores debut. Progreso will enter in the first phase while Cerro Largo will join the competition in the second phase.


Estudiantes de Mérida, champions of the Venezuelan Apertura have secured a spot in the group stage for 2020, where they will be joined by Clausura champion Caracas.

Deportivo Táchira will enter in the second phase of the competition thanks to their overall performance in the aggregate table.

Carabobo finished third in the aggregate table, but failed to qualify for the Clausura playoffs. However the performances of Deportivo Táchira and Caracas have ensured that Carabobo will enter the 2020 Libertadores in the first phase.